The Group of Twenty (G20) is the premier forum for international economic cooperation. It brings together the leaders of developed and developing countries from all continents. It plays an important role in shaping and strengthening global architecture and governance on all major international economic issues. The G20 initially focused largely on broad macroeconomic issues, but it has since expanded its agenda to inter-alia include trade, sustainable development, health, agriculture, energy, environment, climate change, and anti-corruption.

The G20 Summit is held annually, under the leadership of a rotating Presidency. Brazil will hold the Presidency of the G20 from 1 December 2023 to 30 November 2024. The G20 Presidency steers the G20 agenda for one year and hosts the Summit.

Collectively, G20 members represent around 87% of the global GDP, 62% of the world´s population, and over 75% of global trade. Throughout the year, representatives from G20 countries gather to discuss financial and socioeconomic issues.

The 20 members are Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Republic of Korea, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Türkiye, United Kingdom, United States, the African Union, and the European Union. In addition, the G20 is reinforced with the expertise of key international organizations regularly invited to meetings, guest countries and the following engagement groups:

  • B20 - Business 20:
    Dialogue Forum with the international business community. Established in 2010.
  • C20 - Civil 20:
    Dialogue Forum with non-governmental organizations. Established in 2013.
  • L20 - Labor 20:
    Dialogue Forum with union representatives. Established in 2011.
  • P20 - Parliament20:
    Dialogue forum with Parliaments. Established in 2010.
  • S20 - Science 20:
    Dialogue Forum with national science academies. Established in 2017.
  • SAI20 - Supreme Audit Institutions 20:
    Dialogue Forum of Supreme Audit Institutions. Established in 2022.
  • Startup20:
    Dialogue forum for the startup ecosystem stakeholders. Established in 2023.
  • T20 - Think 20:
    Dialogue Forum with think tanks. Established in 2012.
  • U20 - Urban 20:
    Dialogue Forum of city representatives and leaders from G20 cities. Established in 2017.
  • W20 - Women 20:
    Dialogue Forum with women. Established in 2015.
  • Y20 - Youth 20:
    Youth Summit. Established in 2010.